Dr Simon Newell Early Career Investigator Award

Since 1999, Sparks has funded an annual award that recognises excellence in the field of paediatric research. In February 2017 Sparks joined Great Ormond Street Hospital Charity and became part of the GOSH Charity family, and this award is now jointly funded by both charities. The award is offered to recognise an outstanding young medically qualified researcher in British paediatrics and the selection process is coordinated by the RCPCH.

The award is named in memory of Dr Simon Newell - a renowned and widely respected neonatologist and paediatrician who had a passion to encourage the next generation of paediatric clinicians and researchers. He made an enormous contribution to neonatal medicine across the UK and was a great advocate for paediatric health.

Simon was connected to Sparks throughout his career, first as a researcher, then a member of the Medical Advisory Committee and later a Trustee. This award has been named in his memory and as recognition of the tremendous work he did.

Previous winners

Year Winner of Award
2020 Dr Francesco Saverio Tedesco
2019 Dr Sam Behjati
2018 Dr Karin Straathoff
2017 Dr Chris Moxon
2016 Dr Manish Sadarangani
2015 Dr Robert Phillps
2014 Dr Marc Tebruegge
2013 Dr Roderick Mitchell and Dr Anthony Wiskin (joint award)
2012 Dr Matthew Murray
2011 Dr Andrew Predergast
2010 Dr Don Sharkey
2009 Dr Richard F M Chin
2006 Dr Amanda Drake
2005 Dr Howard Clark
2004 Dr Mark Herbert
2003 Dr Deborah Tweddle
2002 Dr Jugnoo Rahi
2001 Dr Paul Winyard
2000 Dr Richard Gilbertson
1999 Dr Jeremy Hull